Wednesday, August 6, 2008

National Conservation Leadership Institute Names 2008-2009 Fellows

The National Conservation Leadership Institute (NCLI) is pleased to announce the third cohort of Fellows for the 2008-2009 leadership development program. Thirty-four “rising stars” in conservation will join the ranks of 71 Fellows, now alumni, previously selected since 2006 from state agencies, federal agencies, non-governmental organizations and companies working in the natural resources industry.

NCLI Fellows have become widely regarded as future senior leaders who will help to build a conservation legacy for the next generation. The 2008-2009 Fellows are:

Karen Alexy -- Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife
Laurel Anders -- Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission
Karen Bataille -- Missouri Department of Conservation
Thomas Baumeister -- Montana Fish, Wildlife, and Parks
Bob Broscheid -- Arizona Game and Fish Department
Sally Claggett -- U.S. Forest Service
Frank Fiss -- Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency
Peter Flores -- Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
Danielle Flynn -- Bureau of Land Management
Mike Fowlks -- Utah Division of Wildlife Resources
Ben Fulton -- Marine Corps Base Quantico
Becky Gwynn -- Virginia Dept. of Game & Inland Fisheries
Debbie Hart -- Alaska Department of Fish and Game
Steven Hilburger -- U.S. Geological Survey
Steve Hurst -- New York State Dept of Environ Cons.
Aaron Jeffries -- Missouri Department of Conservation
Chris Jensen -- U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Ron Leathers -- Pheasants Forever
Julie Lyke -- U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Marcia Maslonek -- Wildlife Habitat Council
Fred Maulson -- Great Lakes Indian Fish and Wildlife Comm.
Ray Metzler -- Alabama Wildlife & Freshwater Fisheries
Jason B. Moeckel -- Minnesota Dept. of Natural Resources
Mike Montoya -- Mescalero Apache Tribe
Amy Owsley -- Eastern Shore Land Conservancy
Tom Paragi -- Alaska Department of Fish and Game
Steve Perry -- NH Fish and Game Department
Linnea Petercheff -- Indiana Department of Natural Resources
Scott Reinecker -- Idaho Dept. of Fish and Game
Bill Rudd -- Wyoming Game and Fish Department
Tony Schoonen -- Boone and Crockett Club
Mark Whitney -- Georgia DNR
Nick Wiley -- Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Comm.
David A. Zebro -- Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources

The new cohort of Fellows will begin the program in September with electronic pre-work followed by an 11-day highly, interactive residency in October at the National Conservation Training Center in West Virginia. After returning home, Fellows work for five months on individual leadership projects focused on a challenge facing their organizations, and the program culminates in the Spring with a long-weekend session at Big Cedar Lodge in Missouri.

About the National Conservation Leadership Institute:
The National Conservation Leadership Institute is a non-profit, multi-organizational effort with the single purpose of providing a world class experience for developing extraordinary leaders in natural resource conservation. The Institute is supported by many of the nation’s most passionate conservation interests including the Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies, Keith Campbell Foundation for the Environment, Weatherby Foundation International, National Fish and Wildlife Foundation, International Paper, Boone and Crockett, the National Shooting Sports Foundation and Bass Pro Shops. For more information, go to